Guest Commentary

These opinion columns have been submitted to the Catholic Review from various guest columnists. 


Nine bishops and one abbot dine, dialogue with peace activists
Nov 25 2015
During the recent U.S. Catholic bishops’ fall assembly in Baltimore, several bishops and one abbot, decided to skip dinner at the downtown Marriott Waterfront hotel, and walked several blocks to an inner city parish to share a simple meal with about 30 peace activists – myself included.

One Baltimore: A 125th anniversary celebration of unity
Nov 20 2015
That the Mission Helpers celebrated 125 years by a benefit, not for themselves but for two organizations that are dedicated to the musical growth of Baltimore children, makes a strong statement about their belief that “One Baltimore” can become a reality, and illustrates their readiness to foster that unity.

Accepting advice and dialogue
Nov 05 2015
Adults are supposed to be mature, but we can still get emotional, especially when we want to see the people we love do well in life.

Supreme Court is not perfect; God’s law is
Oct 15 2015
The Supreme Court was wrong in Dred Scott. The Supreme Court was wrong in Plessy v. Ferguson. The Supreme Court was wrong in Roe v. Wade. The Supreme Court was wrong in Obergefell v. Hodges. The Supreme Court lacks the jurisdiction to overrule God’s definition of marriage.

Guest Commentary: What I learned on pilgrimage
Oct 02 2015
Father John J. "Jack" Lombardi reflects on the pilgrimage he led from Baltimore to Philadelphia to see Pope Francis.

Visit with Feet for Francis pilgrims releases flood of Baltimore memories
Sep 25 2015
Nothing stirs memories of Archdiocese of Baltimore Catholic schools like seeing archdiocesan pilgrims tromp past your home turf in Pennsylvania.

Yearning to see pope is a family tradition
Sep 18 2015
Deacon Miguel Sainz and his wife, Isabel, met St. John Paul II in October 1995, when the pope visited the Cathedral of Mary Our Queen in Homeland. (Special to the Review/Olivia Obineme)

The fragility of trust
Aug 26 2015
Broken trust is like a shattered coffee mug: You can glue the pieces back together, but it’s never going to look like it used to and may even leak.

Identifying with the saints
Aug 13 2015
I once surprised a Lutheran minister who was a good friend of mine when I said that I admired Dietrich Bonhoeffer, the Lutheran theologian martyred in Hitler’s Germany, so much that I sometimes prayed for his intercession.

Sloth will be the downfall of abortion
Aug 11 2015
Irony or ironies, it will be sloth – that crippling disease of the will – that will overturn abortion in our lifetime.