Father Joseph Breighner

Father Joseph Breighner

Father Joseph Breighner, a Catholic priest in the Archdiocese of Baltimore, is a popular lecturer and retreat master in the mid-Atlantic region. He formerly hosted a regular weekly radio show, "Country Road," that was syndicated throughout the country. He has been writing a column for The Catholic Review for decades. Father Breighner retired in 2013, but continues writing a monthly column for the Catholic Review magazine and additional columns that appear exclusively on this page of the Catholic Review website. Purchase Father Joe's books in our store.

Commentary

Doing good by resisting evil
May 03 2017
The strength to resist evil and the power to do good can sum up the moral behavior of Christians.

How do we find God?
Apr 13 2017
Father Joseph Breighner offers three tips for getting closer to God.

Eternal life in the balance
Mar 13 2017
Belief in God may not always bring out the best in us, but it can at least keep us from acting out the worst in us.

What makes the world go round?
Feb 07 2017
We all matter. We are all equally valuable despite artificial distinctions of class and salary.

God’s human form
Jan 03 2017
For the believer, the Christmas Season is the time after Christmas.

Allow God to save us
Dec 15 2016
Christmas is not just about a moment when God entered human history, but about God sharing with us his own life.

Help others believe in their own goodness
Nov 10 2016
The best gift we can give is to help someone else to believe in his or her own goodness.

Heavenly aroma
Oct 17 2016
Sanctity knows no time limits. If you would journey with me back into the 1950s, to Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish in Essex, you would notice something very unusual.

Weighing life in the presidential election
Oct 11 2016
If we can agree that life is worth protecting, then let’s vote for the candidate we believe best protects it.

Peace is a decision
Sep 19 2016
As Christians we believe that the “Word became flesh.” God took on our humanity. Through prayer let us become so transformed that we take on God’s divinity.

Olympics showed we are all one
Aug 24 2016
We have allowed even our religions to become reasons to divide us. Wouldn't it be wonderful if we could all at least agree on one religious belief that God created humans in his own image and likeness?

Going to the cats
Aug 16 2016
As a child, my favorite saint was St. Francis of Assisi. While I couldn’t identify with his holiness, I could identify with his love of animals.

Big sister did good
Jul 13 2016
My sister, Helen Eder, died May 14, the eve of my 45th anniversary as a priest.

Of fireworks, and igniting the good
Jun 30 2016
July explodes on the summer scene. It’s impossible to think of July without fireworks.

Purpose, rather than despair
Jun 02 2016
We humans have been told to “go bravely into that dark night.” Few nights are darker than the darkness of dementia.