Amen

All Catholic Review editorial staff members contribute to the Amen column, which covers topics ranging from weddings to Mother's Day to dealing with loss.

Commentary

Hagerstown parishioner takes Francis to heart
Jul 23 2015
Cole Trippett wanted his Scout project to do something good for his parish and be a witness of our Catholic faith to the Hagerstown community.

Called To Witness: El Salvador
Jul 08 2015
When Pope Francis wrote that he hopes for a poor church for the poor, one where we can find Jesus, listen to his voice and be his voice for them, I was challenged to ask, “How?” How can I best listen to our brothers and sisters in El Salvador and perhaps lend my voice for the voiceless?

The world we leave for our children
Jun 25 2015
Carolyn Woo, president of Baltimore-based Catholic Relief Services, writes The Catholic Review's AMEN Column this week.

How to be a dad – it’s not about the doughnuts
Jun 18 2015
Harold was a kind and gentle soul, a man of deep Catholic faith and of great integrity. He rarely said a bad word about anyone. In fact, at my dad’s wake, my cousin mentioned that he considered working for a man my father knew. When my dad said simply, “Watch out for that guy,” my cousin knew to stay away. Uncle Harold would not denigrate the man, but that warning was enough.

Britt Robertson stars in a scene from the movie "Tomorrowland." The Catholic News Service classification is A-II -- adults and adolescents. The Motion Picture Association of America rating is PG -- parental guidance suggested. Some material may not be suitable for children. (CNS photo/Disney) Is ‘Tomorrowland’ a Catholic movie?
May 27 2015
Disney was a religious man, though not Catholic. But his optimism is matched by centuries of Catholic writing and teaching.

What we’ve seen and heard
May 22 2015
The past three weeks have awakened a sleeping giant in Baltimore.

Courtesy of mom: Moment of humbling grace
May 01 2015
“Even bad men love their mommas.”

Death sentence for Tsarnaev – or mercy?
Apr 17 2015
Should Dzhokhar Tsarnaev be executed for his role in the Boston Marathon bombings?

Ten years later, echoes of John Paul’s papacy
Apr 03 2015
It’s hard to believe it has been 10 years since Pope John Paul II died at age 84.

A bridge to a better future
Mar 20 2015
Standing on the crest of the Edmund Pettus Bridge in Selma, Ala., March 8, I whispered a prayer for everybody in the United States.