All Catholic Review editorial staff members contribute to the Amen column, which covers topics ranging from weddings to Mother's Day to dealing with loss.


Amen: Strong women bolster pilgrimage
Sep 30 2015
Paul McMullen shares a reflection on two women who helped support the 110-mile walking pilgrimage from Baltimore to Philadelphia.

Up close and personal with the pope
Sep 18 2015
I’m fairly sure that I have never seen a pope without writing about it or taking pictures for publication. That’s not a bad thing, but it changes your perspective a bit.

Manchester parish marches on
Sep 09 2015
When St. Bartholomew attained parish status in 1965, there were fewer than 100 registered families; today there are just slight of 1,500.

We are all ‘Guadalupanos’
Aug 20 2015
Father Mark S. Bialek explains why Catholics, Christians, people of faith and even non-believers consider themselves Guadalupanos.

Rowdiness to reflection in Federal Hill
Aug 06 2015
However long they remain, two minutes or two hours, the decision to step off the street and into Holy Cross makes them pilgrims of another order. For those few moments, at least, their journey is definitively toward God.

Hagerstown parishioner takes Francis to heart
Jul 23 2015
Cole Trippett wanted his Scout project to do something good for his parish and be a witness of our Catholic faith to the Hagerstown community.

Called To Witness: El Salvador
Jul 08 2015
When Pope Francis wrote that he hopes for a poor church for the poor, one where we can find Jesus, listen to his voice and be his voice for them, I was challenged to ask, “How?” How can I best listen to our brothers and sisters in El Salvador and perhaps lend my voice for the voiceless?

The world we leave for our children
Jun 25 2015
Carolyn Woo, president of Baltimore-based Catholic Relief Services, writes The Catholic Review's AMEN Column this week.

How to be a dad – it’s not about the doughnuts
Jun 18 2015
Harold was a kind and gentle soul, a man of deep Catholic faith and of great integrity. He rarely said a bad word about anyone. In fact, at my dad’s wake, my cousin mentioned that he considered working for a man my father knew. When my dad said simply, “Watch out for that guy,” my cousin knew to stay away. Uncle Harold would not denigrate the man, but that warning was enough.

Britt Robertson stars in a scene from the movie "Tomorrowland." The Catholic News Service classification is A-II -- adults and adolescents. The Motion Picture Association of America rating is PG -- parental guidance suggested. Some material may not be suitable for children. (CNS photo/Disney) Is ‘Tomorrowland’ a Catholic movie?
May 27 2015
Disney was a religious man, though not Catholic. But his optimism is matched by centuries of Catholic writing and teaching.